Taylor back on the podium in Sheffrec Open 25

Birdwell Wheeler Dan Taylor (pictured at the event) claimed his second podium finish of the season when he rode the Sheffrec Open 25 Mile time trial at Hatfield last Saturday.

His 3rd place time of 55m 29s was 2m 13s behind winner Simon Beldon of Team SSLL and just 20 seconds quicker than 4th placed Anthony Bromley, also of Team SSLL.

Other Wheelers times were Paul Mason 57m 54s, junior Tom Booth 1h 2m 26s and  Greg Godley 1h 5m 45s.

On the same day Trevor Mayne rode his second fastest ever 25 Mile time trial when he rode the South Pennine Open 25 event at Etwall. His time of 51m 49s was just 9 seconds slower than his personal best despite being baulked on one of the roundabouts.

Also on Saturday Paul Heggie rode in the City RC Open 10 Mile time trial at South Cave and his time of 22m 06s was good enough for 1st out of 18 in the 60-69 age group and beat his own club age record by exactly 1 minute.

In the last of the club’s four 5 Mile time trials at Thurgoland Andy Nichols of Team B38 was fastest in 11m 20s, just 8 seconds quicker than first Wheeler home Dan Taylor.

On handicap Greg Godley was 1st in 10m 29s with Rob Parkes 2nd in 10m 55s. Austin Watson still leads the handicap series on 28 points only 1 ahead of Trevor Mayne and 2 ahead of Dan Taylor.

 Birdwell times

Dan Taylor


Trevor Mayne


Greg Godley


Rob Parkes


Allan Whittaker


Roger Bacon


Next Tuesday is the date for the Club’s 5 Mile Championship on the Park Springs course starting at 7pm. Visitors are welcome.

Last Sunday Roger Bacon, Dave Hudson, Paul Heggie, Christine Minto, Steve Myatt, Tony Lodge, Paul Mynett, Rob Parkes, Phil Adams and guest Chris Jenkins completed a 65 mile loop to Torworth.

Sunday’s club run will meet at 9:15an at the Brewers Fayre roundabout Brampton and visitors are welcome.

More details on all the above can be found on the club website

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>