Folk band of the year to play in Barnsley

An award-winning band is coming to The Civic next month.

The Furrow Collective, comprising four distinctive and talented performers – Lucy Farrel (viola, voice and saw|), Rachel Ndewton (harp, fiddle, voice), Emily Portman (banjo, concertina, voice) and Alasdair Roberts (guitar, voice) – were awarded the accolade of ‘Best Band’ at the 2017 BBC Radio Two Folk Awards, hot on the heels of the release in late 2016 of their second album, Wild Hog (Hudson Records).

The four fine soloists from both sides of the English and Scottish borders formed the group in 2013 when they were drawn together by a shared love of traditional song and ballads from England, Scotland and beyond.

The group has a playful, boundary-defying musicianship and an open approach to collaboration which has seen them gain high praise.

‘A winningly produced masterclass in folk tradition’- The Observer.

‘Compelling new take on traditional songs… A quietly classy young folk band’ – The Guardian.

Since their critically acclaimed debut At Our Next Meeting, The Furrow Collective has been in demand as a touring band, gigging throughout Europe and performing BBC live sessions.

Boasting a stripped-back power, the album led to a nomination for Best Group and Best Traditional Track in the 2015 BBC Radio Two Folk Awards and a live session on BBC Radio Two. Their 2015’s five-song EP Blow Out the Moon was similarly well-received, resulting in another Best Traditional Track nomination the following year.

Each band member leads a song, moving with ease from jaunty stories of ailing horses, to poignant laments and sparsely adorned supernatural ballads.

The Furrow Collective (pictured) are sure to delight audiences in Barnsley with their unique approach to traditional song.

The Furrow Collective is at The Civic, Barnsley on 3 March at 8:00pm. Tickets are £14.

For more information and to book visit or call the Box Office on 01226 327000.

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>