Tina makes her mark on Birdwell Wheelers’ Open TT debut

Last Saturday saw the first of Birdwell Wheelers’ two Open Time Trials.

The 10 Mile event saw 83 riders complete the distance, with the winner of the Taylor Trophy for fastest man being Simon Beldon in 20m 19s. Fastest woman and winner of the Jim Carr Trophy was Kirsty Bramley in 24m 01s. Winner of the road bike event was Andrew Newby in 23m 24s.

One notable ride was by Birdwell Wheelers’ Tina Oakes (pictured) who recorded a time of 29m 20s to break the 30-minute barrier in her first ever Open event.

Other Birdwell times were: John Woodhouse 29m 41s; Bob Waterhouse (in his comeback ride) 29m 14s;, Greg Godley 26m 09s; and Trevor Mayne 22m 32s.

Barnsley Road Club were represented by Wayne Gregory (27m 05s), John Catley  (24m 05s), Robert Keyte (26m 44s), Gary Thornton (24m 16s), Philip Tyas (24m 12s) and Darren Gough (22m 14s) .

Robert Barnard, of Team Cystic Fibrosis, finished in 23m 46s.

Sunday’s club run to Goole saw Steve Myatt , Rodger Holmes, Dave Hudson, Paul Mynett,  Phil Adams, Austin D Watson, Chris Jenkins, Tony Lodge and guest Hayden John Hatfield set off from Brewers Fayre, Wombwell and complete a 75 mile round trip.

This week the club’s 100 km Audax , postponed due to snow, will start at 9am on Sunday. Riders are required to complete the flat course to Snaith and back in just over seven hours. Entries are available on the day at Birdwell Community Centre from 8:30 am.

  © John Robert Photography

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>