A Swift record-breaking warm-up for Tour de Yorkshire

Local professional Connor Swift, of Madison Genesis, warmed up for this weekend’s Tour de Yorkshire by setting a new course record of 50 minutes 53 seconds in Birdwell Wheelers’ second Open Time Trial of the season – a 25 miles event – at Hatfield Woodhouse on Saturday.

Heading a strong field of 79 riders on a cold but mainly dry day, Swift thus picked up the South Yorkshire Times Trophy for 2018.

Fastest woman was Kirsty Bramley, of Team Swift, who clocked 1hr 0mins 52sec to srepeat her win in the culb’s 10-mile event a fortnight earlier.

Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec) was fastest veteran in 54-45, while the team prize went to three riders from Harrogate Nova.

Trevor Mayne headed the Birdwell Wheelers times in 57m 20s, despite a scare when he punctured on the way to the start. Greg Godley (1h 6m 36s), Bob Waterhouse (1h 13m 49s) and John Woodhouse (1h 16m 36s) rounded off the club’s times.

Barnsley Road Club riders featured strongly, John Catley (58m 04s) pipping clubmate Darren Gough( 58m 05s)! Garreth Bruff also broke the hour in 59m 20s while Gary Thornton finished in 1h 02m 00s. Team Cystic Fibrosis rider Rob Barnard finished in 1h 01m 00s,

Sunday’s club run saw Paul Mynett, Roger Holmes, Roger Bacon, Steve Myatt, Dave Hudson and Phil Adams complete a 70 mile round trip to Tadcaster. 

On the same day Wheeler Chris Jenkins rode the Kicks Count charity ride, a 100 mile event taking in Holmfirth, Kinder Scout and The Strines .

Unfortunately, for the second week running, the club’s 5 mile time trial at Thurgoland on Tuesday was cancelled, this time due to strong gusting winds. The 3rd of the 5 mile events will take place on Tuesday at 7pm and visitors are welcome.

On Sunday the club run will head out to follow the final stage of this year’s Tour of Yorkshire which starts at 12:20 in Halifax and finishes in Leeds.

  • Picture shows Connor Swift, Madison Genesis, receiving the SY Times Trophy from club Chairman Paul Heggie © T Mayne

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>