NewsGeneral News

Mayne romps to victory in Wheelers’ 10-mile Championship


Birdwell Wheelers 10 Mile Club Championship Time Trial took place on Tuesday on the course at Park Springs. Fastest on the night and 2018 Champion was Trevor Mayne (pictured). First on handicap was Paul Heggie.

No. Entrant Club Time H’cap Time
1 Trevor Mayne Birdwell 22:50 22:50
2 Paul Heggie Birdwell 24:49 22:19
3 John Woodhouse Birdwell 28:27 23:12
4 Roger Bacon Birdwell 28:29 23:44
5 Austin Watson Birdwell 29:45 23:25
6 Phil Tyas Barnsley RC 23:59
7 Matt Bourne Hudd Star Whs 24:00
8 David Bird Barnsley RC 25:21
9 John Tomlinson Barnsley RC 27:07


On Sunday Trevor Mayne, Phil Adams, Robert Parkes, John Woodhouse, Austin D Watson and Steve Myatt, in glorious weather, rode a hilly 60 mile route to Hope in the Peak District.

This Sunday’s club run is a 70 mile loop to Goole. Visitors are welcome. Meet at 9.15 at Brewers Fayre Wombwell.

Next Tuesday (14 August) is the date for the club’s first hill climb on America Lane at Brampton Bierlow. First rider is off at 7.01pm and signing on is from 6.30pm. Visitors are welcome.

More details on this and all the above can be found on the club’s website:

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>