Wheelers sextet hit Peak form for ‘Hopey New Year’ ride

Last Saturday saw six members of Birdwell Wheelers ride their first event of the New Year.

Dave Hudson, Sally Salter, Marc Peasegood, John Woodhouse, Rob Parkes and Bob Waterhouse rode the 100 km “Hopey New Year” Audax.

The challenging route in the southern Peak District saw the riders leave Bradwell on a route through Bakewell to Asbourne, then climb up towards Leek before returning via Longnor, Millersdale and Tideswell, with a total of 6000 feet of climbing. All six finished well within the allotted time.

The next day Tina Oates led a club run with Paul Maude, Diane Barron, Nichola Dye, Tom Booth, Daniel Osinski, Gavin King, Austin Watson, Phil Adams, Rodger Holmes, Paul Heggie, Steve Myatt, Angela Smith and Ken Jones on a flat 35 mile route through Mexborough returning via Brodsworth.

Sunday’s club run starts from Brewers Fayre Wombwell from 9.00am. Visitors are welcome.

More details on this and all the above can be found on the club’s website: “

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>