Bromiley at the double in Wheelers’ Open 10-mile TT

Forty-eight riders from clubs across the Uk competed in Birdwell Wheelers’ Open 10 mile time trial at Hatfield Woodhouse last Saturday.

Fastest, and winner of the Taylor Trophy, was Liam Bromiley, of Sheffrec. in 20m 10s – just 40 seconds ahead of team-mate Keith Ainsworth. This completed a double for Bromiley, who won the club’s 25 mile event in April.

Fastest woman was Claire Swoboda, of Velo Club St. Raphael, in 24m 24s and fastest Birdwell rider was Trevor Mayne in 22m 23s, which placed him 11th overall.

Sunday saw Wheelers out in force. Chris Jenkins, Rodger Holmes, Steve Myatt, Alan and Lucy Bullock, and Chris Nutter visiting from Bradford, rode a 75 mile loop to Carburton, while club President Christine Minto rode a 76 mile loop Goole via Crowle and Pollington, unfortunately puncturing a mile from home.

The club’s 2nd 5 mile time trial at Thurgoland is on Tuesday at 7pm. Visitors are welcome.

Sunday’s club run meets at Brewers Fayre roundabout Wombwell at 9am. Again visitors are welcome.

More details on this and all the above can be found on the club’s website:

  •  Picture shows Liam Bromiley receiving the Taylor Trophy from Christine Minto ©A Cancellara
Attachments area

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>